History of the Waynesville Inn
In the early 1920's, the dairy farm that occupied the current property was sold to Mr. Jim Long. It was the combination of Jim Long’s vision and Donald Ross's legendary genius that turned a cow pasture into the "Gem of Western North Carolina," opening in 1926 as the Waynesville Country Club (WCC).
Waynesville had already established itself as a premier mountain resort destination and mecca for artisan shopping, allowing the WCC to become an instant success. And since that time, many groups and individuals return annually to the club to enjoy Smoky Mountain tranquility and the friendly hospitality of our great staff.
Over the years the Inn has hosted many well known figures, among them- Sam Snead, Chi-Chi Rodriguez, Arnold Palmer, Billy Graham, President Richard Nixon, and more recently Willie Nelson. Our tradition of excellence has allowed us to remain a popular destination as powerhouse courses of the North Carolina lowlands developed. Today that proud tradition continues.
In 2009, WCC changed its name to The Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa to better reflect the role in the local community and region. The Inn’s number one focus is to make your experience one that is more memorable and valuable.